Accreditation of an organization is the process of getting certified and authorized for the standards of operations and infrastructural facilities provided by it. Being accredited means, an institution has been evaluated and that it has met the set standards of quality determined by the accrediting organization. A college has to adhere to the set criteria of the concerned authorities, to sustain its accreditation. Colleges in India are accredited by various authorities, which provide independent review of educational programmes to determine that the education provided is of uniform and good quality. India has two autonomous accreditation bodies-

National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) working under University Grants Commission (UGC)
National Board of Accreditation (NBA) functioning under All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE)
In India, only those colleges that have completed 5 years since their establishment can apply for accreditation. The process of accreditation aims towards systematic, objective, data-based, transparent and shared experience for institutional improvement. Hence, to get your college accredited in India, you need to implement the following steps:

Step 1

Firstly, you need to fill up the online accreditation form. This would include the Letter of Intent and Institutional Eligibility for Quality Assessment. Ensure that you provide appropriate information and submit the form within the stipulated period of time.

Step 2

After filling up the form, you need to submit the requisite accreditation fees. The assessment and accreditation fee structure varies depending upon the courses offered by the college. For instance, the accreditation fee for colleges offering course in only one stream i.e. Arts or Commerce or Science is Rs. 50,000/- and those offering courses in more than one stream, such as Science and Arts is Rs. 75,000/-.

Step 3

After the submission of the fee, your college administrative committee should prepare a detailed report to be submitted to the accrediting agency. The report should include the goals, operating measures and facilities provided by the college along with the essential documents.

Step 4

Once the accrediting agency receives a detailed report, an assessment team will visit your college for evaluation. Your college would be evaluated on 7 criteria, namely; curricular aspects, teaching-learning evaluation, research-consultancy and extension, infrastructure and learning resources, student support and progression, governance and leadership and innovative practices.

Step 5

After assessing the 7 domains, the accreditation agency will provide a final score i.e. Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA), according to which a grade A, B, C or D will be given to your college. If your college is awarded grade A, B or C then it is eligible to get accredited.

All the steps mentioned above will give you an in-depth knowledge of how to get your college accredited. The accreditation will be provided for 5 years to your college and you will have to apply for its renewal once the validity of accreditation expires. Thus, it becomes imperative to take the visit as a learning experience and take necessary steps to improve the style of working, to ensure that your college attains timely accreditation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

let’s connect