Norms for CBSE School Affiliation

A school is an educational institution that provides the appropriate platform for further studies. Seeking affiliation from a recognized board of education becomes the primary objective while you think of setting up a formal school. In India, there are various boards of education such as CBSE, ICSE, State Boards etc. that lay down the guidelines on how to operate or run a school. Amongst the aforesaid names, the CBSE board is the most popular and preferred board of education in India. Various norms laid down by the CBSE to seek its affiliation are as follows:


Interested to Open a School? Call +91-9810775842


  1. Types of schools that are eligible to seek affiliation with the CBSE are –
    • Government or Government aided schools;
    • Schools run by autonomous organizations under the Government like Kendriya
      Vidyalaya Sangathan (KVS), Navodaya Vidyalaya Samiti (NVS), Central Tibetan Schools
      Organisation (CTSO), Sainik Schools Society etc.;
    • Schools run by Government Departments directly like defence, railways etc.
    • Schools managed directly by Public Sector Undertakings(PSU’s) or by reputed societies for
      PSU’s under the financial control of such PSU’s or by Societies formed by such undertakings.
    • Private, unaided schools established by Societies registered under the Societies Registration Act 1860 of the Government of India or under Acts of the State Governments as educational, charitable or religious societies having non-proprietary character or by Trusts.
  2. Kinds of Affiliation granted by CBSE
    Affiliation through CBSE can be categorized into three types, depending upon the time period involved. They are provisional (for a period of 3 years subject to fulfillment of the norms), regular (just one time if the school satisfies the fulfillment of the norms) and permanent (to those schools which have been provisionally affiliated for a period of 10 years or more).
  3. Norms regarding the Society or Trust running the school
    The Society/Trust so formed should be registered and non-proprietary in nature. Formation of the society or trust should also conform to the rules laid down by the State government where the school is located.
  4. School Managing Committee
    Every affiliated school except schools run directly by the Education Department of the Government of the State/ U.T., should have a management committee approved by the Board.
  5. Financial Resources
    The school should possess sufficient finance to ensure smooth functioning and for stability in the long run. It should have a permanent source of income for the running expenses. Also, no part of the income from the institution should be utilised by the Society/ Trust or the management committee or any other individual for any purpose.
  6. Infrastructural Facilities
    The school should possess basic necessities like spacious classrooms with suitable furniture, hygienic sanitation facilities, a playground for physical activities and sports, a library with sufficient reading material, computer rooms, science laboratories etc. Apart from these, a school should also have a medical room to safeguard student’s health.
  7. Staff and Service Conditions
    Also, the school should have adequate teaching staff that should possess the necessary qualifications laid down for various posts by the Board. Try to ensure that the student teacher ratio should not exceed 30. In addition to this, the school should have well defined conditions of service as per the norms of the State/U.T. Government and should issue letters of appointment to the employees at the time of joining service and should also sign a contract of service.
  8. Fee Structure
    Fees should normally be charged under the heads prescribed by the Department of Education of the State/U.T. for schools of different categories according to the facilities provided by the institution. Acts of attaining voluntary donations for gaining admission in the school or for any other purpose should be discouraged. In case of such malpractices, the Board may take drastic action leading to disaffiliation of the school.
  9. Admission of Students
    Admission in schools affiliated to the CBSE will be made without any distinction of religion, caste, creed etc. The admissions regarding SC/ST/OBC students shall vary according to the location of the school.

Board reserves the right to inspect the school premises any time without prior intimation. The school seeking CBSE affiliation should furnish unaltered facts and figures failure to which will lead to strict action against that institution. But, there is one name in the education sector that is SHEMFORD Futuristic Schools that abides by the Board’s guidelines. So, join SHEMFORD Group of Schools– a leading chain of 10+2 schools in India which is affiliated to CBSE board and completely adheres to the prescribed norms to ensure smooth functioning in the organisation.


Chat on Whatsapp +91-9650193838 for more Details


CBSE Schools Affiliation Code List

CBSE Affiliation Code List, Affiliation School Of CBSE School, Candidate Can Get Affiliation Code of CBSE Schools. Candidate Can also Search Affiliation Code of CBSE Schools by Following Keyword.

  • AffNo Number Wise
  • State Wise
  • Region Wise
  • School Level Wise
  • List of Schools Update Their Info
  • DisAffiliated Schools

For Affiliation Code Of CBSE Schools Please Visit the given below link:

Visit for Affiliation Code of CBSE Schools 

Here are some schools of Delhi:

Affiliation Code Center Code School Name
2730010 DL01976 Guru Harkrishan Public School
2730011 DL01984 Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan’s Mehta
2730012 DL01985 Convent of Jesus & Mary School
2730013 DL01525 Somerville School
2730014 DL01989 St Thomas Girls Sr Sec School
2730015 DL01951 Delhi Public School
2730016 DL01943 Cambridge School
2730017 DL01851 Delhi Public School
2730019 DL01850 Central Academy
2730020 DL01856 Ramjas School
2730022 DL01907 Bhavan’s Sawan Public School
2730023 DL01929 Summer Fields School
2730026 DL01905 St Anthony’s Sr Sec School
2730028 DL01979 Carmel Convent School
2730029 DL01921 Apeejay School
2730030 DL01864 St Mary’s School
2730031 DL01843 Guru Harkrishan Public School
2730032 DL01848 Mount Carmel School
2730033 DL01920 Manava Bharati India Intl School
2730034 DL01845 Tagore International School
2730036 DL01902 General Raj’s School
2730040 DL01942 Dev Samaj Modern School
2730043 DL02001 Springdales School
2730044 DL01730 Holy Child Sr Sec School